Tiger Short Competition

The power of short. 21 films compete for one of three equal awards.

Short films can be found at many places during IFFR: as part of video installations, preceding feature films and, naturally, in combined programmes. Films between 1 and 63 minutes long, from all over the world. There are fiction films, experimental work and documentaries. Short films prove that filmmakers play with a whole range of cinematic forms and ideas. 

The short films have their own competition at IFFR. What differentiates it from the Tiger Competition for feature-length films is the fact that it's not just for young and upcoming talents; all filmmakers have a chance at winning. 24 shorts competed for three equal Tiger Short Awards at IFFR 2023, each worth €5,000.

Jury members 2024

Mónica Lima

After completing her studies in painting/visual arts in Lisbon, Mónica LIMA graduated with a degree in directing from the German Film Academy in Berlin. With a singular and thorough gaze on intimate and family relationships, her storytelling delves into the multiple layers surrounding the longing for meaning in contemporary life. Her films have been shown at prestigious festivals, including IFFR, New Directors/New Films, Melbourne IFF, Guadalajara or Angers Premiers Plans, garnering notable awards, such as the Tiger Short Competition Award at IFFR 2023, the Grand Prix at Regard – Saguenay International Short Film Festival, and Best Film and Audience Awards of the National Competition at Curtas Vila do Conde. In addition to her filmmaking, she has been working as a scriptwriter, script consultant and lecturer of directing and screenwriting classes.

Jade Wiseman

Jade WISEMAN is a film distributor, curator and festival producer. Originally from Montréal, Canada, she is now based in Amsterdam. She previously worked as a sales and festival agent for artists’ centre Vidéographe (Canada) and is now coordinating distribution for Video Power (Netherlands). She is fuelled by an honest passion for non-commercial, experimental moving image and strives to make it more visible.

She has hosted workshops on independent distribution and worked closely with filmmakers to bring their films to wider audiences nationally and internationally. She curated film programmes and crafted distribution policies that champion the fair remuneration of filmmakers. Her main goals are sharing industry knowledge, creating a community around unconventional, experimental moving image practices and supporting filmmakers.

Yasmina Price

Yasmina PRICE is a New-York based writer and film programmer completing a PhD at Yale University. She focuses on anticolonial cinema from the Global South and the work of visual artists across the African continent and diaspora, with a particular interest in the experimental work of women filmmakers. She has participated in public conversations and dialogues with filmmakers organised by the Maysles Documentary Center, International Documentary Association, New York Film Festival and more. Her curatorial work includes shorts programmes at Anthology Film Archives and Light Industry, as well as longer series In the Images, Behind the Camera: Women’s Political Cinema 1959-1992 (BAM, May 2022) and Wayward Waters: Black Cinema and The Atlantic (LACMA and Pan African Film & Arts Festival, February 2023). Recent writing has appeared in Lux Magazine, The Nation, The Baffler, Film Quarterly and Criterion 

Mónica Lima_©TiagoMiranda

Jade Wiseman

Yasmina Price

Winners per edition

Crazy Lotus (Thailand) by Naween Noppakun
Few Can See (Ireland) by Frank Sweeney
Workers’ Wings (Kosovo) by Ilir Hasanaj

Natureza Humana by Mónica Lima (Portugal, Germany)
Tito by Kervens Jimenez and Taylor McIntosh (Haiti)
What the Soil Remembers by José Cardoso (South Africa, Ecuador)

Becoming Male in the Middle Ages by Pedro Neves Marques (Portugal)
Nazarbazi by Maryam Tafakory (Iran)
Nosferasta: First Bite by Bayley Sweitzer and Adam Khalil (USA)

Maat by Fox Maxy (USA)
Sunsets, everyday by Basir Mahmood (Italy)
Terranova by Alejandro Pérez Serrano and Alejandro Alonso Estrella (Cuba)

Apparition by Ismaïl Bahri (France)
Communicating Vessels by Maïder Fortuné and Annie MacDonell (Canada)
Sun Dog by Dorian Jespers (Belgium, Russia)

Wong Ping's Fables 1 by Wong Ping (Hong Kong)
Ultramarine by Vincent Meessen (Belgium/France/Canada)
Freedom of Movement by Nina Fischer and Maroan el Sani (Germany/Italy)

Mountain Plain Mountain by Araki Yu and Daniel Jacoby (Spain)
Rose Gold by Sara Cwynar (USA)
With History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 4 by Korakrit Arunanondchai (USA)

Rubber Coated Steel
 by Lawrence Abu Hamdan (Lebanon/Germany)
El cuento de Antonia by Jorge Cadena (Colombia/Switzerland)
Sakhisona by Prantik Basu (India)

Dream English Kid 1964-1999 AD by Mark Leckey (United Kingdom)
Faux départ by Yto Barrada (Morocco)
Engram of Returning by Daïchi Saïto (Canada)

Things by Ben Rivers (United Kingdom)
La fièvre by Safia Benhaim (France)
Greetings to the Ancestors by Ben Russell (USA/South Africa/United Kingdom)

La isla by Dominga Sotomayor and Katarzyna Klimkiewicz (Chile/Poland/Denmark)
Giant by Salla Tykkä (Finland, Romania
The Chimera of M. by Sebastian Buerkner (United Kingdom)

Janus by Erik van Lieshout (Netherlands)
The Tiger's Mind by Beatrice Gibson (United Kingdom)
Unsupported Transit by Zachary Formwalt (Netherlands)

Generator by Makino Takashi (Japan)
Big in Vietnam by Mati Diop (France)
Springtime by Jeroen Eisinga (Netherlands)

Stardust by Nicolas Provost (Belgium)
Pastourelle by Nathaniel Dorsky (USA)
Jan Villa by Natasha Mendonca (USA/India)

Atlantiques by Mati Diop (Senegal/France)
Wei Wen (Condolences) by Ying Liang (China)
Wednesday Morning 2 A.M. by Lewis Klahr (USA)

Bernadette by Duncan Campbell (UK)
Despair by Galina Myznikova & Sergey Provorov (Russia)
A Necessary Music by Beatrice Gibson (UK)

Ah, Liberty! by Ben Rivers (UK)
As I Lay Dying by Ho Yuhang (Malaysia) 
Observando el cielo by Jeanne Liotta (USA)

Video Game by Vipin Vijay (India, 2006)
Hinterland by Geoffrey Boulangé (France, 2007)
The Flag by Köken Ergun (Turkey, 2007) 

Beginnings by Roy Villevoye (Netherlands, 2006) 
Rabbit by Run Wrake (United Kingdom, 2005) 
Who I Am and What I Want by David Shrigley & Chris Shepherd (United Kingdom, 2005)

Interlude by Joost van Veen (Netherlands)
Nuuk by Thomas Köner (Germany)
Veere by David Lammers (Netherlands) 
Special mention: 
Fare bene Mìkles by Christian Angeli (Italy)