Big Screen Competition

In the Big Screen Competition an audience jury selects one IFFR-film which they believe deserves a spot on both the big screens of Dutch cinema as well television screens at home, as the winning film will also be broadcasted by VPRO on NPO 2.

The selection of 2019

The VPRO Big Screen Award is the result of a long-lived collaboration between IFFR and VPRO. During IFFR eight films are in competition for this award. The winning film will screen in cinemas and on television across the Netherlands in the next year. Besides this, the winner of the Big Screen Competition is rewarded with a monetary prize of €30.000, of which half will go to the distributor of the film.

Every year a new audience jury decides which film wins. As a jury member you’re granted the chance to watch all nominated films (8 to 10 films) during IFFR 2019. This year too we are looking for you! Are you a film lover without a professional background? Do you want to make your voice heard and are you free from 23 January to 3 February 2019? Grab this unique opportunity slip and subscribe as a jury member today.

Big Screen Jury 2019

Marinko Saponja
Keston Pollard
Dorien Riswick-Keultjes
Vlada Brenici
Annelies Groot

Read more about the audience jury

Winners per edition

 by Anna Eborn

Nina by Olga Chajdas

Pop Aye
 by Kirsten Tan

Les ogres
by Léa Fehner

Second Coming
 by Debbie Tucker Green 

Another Year
 by Oxana Bychkova

Bellas mariposas
 by Salvatore Mereu

About the VPRO Big Screen Award

The VPRO Big Screen Award has been part of IFFR since 2013. The prize aims at promoting quality cinema in the Dutch filmtheatres. IFFR works together with a Dutch distribution partner to realise the film release and provide financial support for the publication of the film, and VPRO ensures a greater audience with a television screening on NPO 2.  The monetary prize of €30.000 will contribute to the publicity costs of the film release and the film’s television rights.