

ELIGIBLE PROJECTS

The Hubert Bals Fund supports feature film projects from Latin America, Asia, the Middle East, Africa and parts of Eastern Europe. Below you can find the list of eligible countries from these regions. The director, writer, and main producer of eligible projects should live and work in, and be nationals of one of these countries. Eligible projects should be (mainly) set and shot in one of the eligible countries. The HBF also provides support to feature films by filmmakers originating in one of the eligible countries, but now living in diaspora (e.g. dual nationality, refugee status or residency permit) in another country. Please note that priority is given to films that are majority shot in an eligible country.

ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS

Script and Project Development

The applicant should be the director or main producer of a project that meets the criteria mentioned above.

NFF+HBF Co-production Scheme

The applicant should be a Dutch producer that fits the eligibility criteria of the <u>Netherlands Film Fund</u>. The project should previously have been selected in the HBF's Script and Project Development category.

HBF+Europe: Minority Co-production Support

The applicant should be a production company that is constituted and active for at least two years in a country participating in the MEDIA Sub-programme and owned - directly or by majority participation - by nationals from such countries. The track record of the applicant should demonstrate a (majority or minority) participation in at least two completed feature films, including one international or European co-produced feature film.

The director and main producer of the project should meet the criteria above. However, the co-production structure should consist of a production company from a country participating in the MEDIA Sub-programme and of a production company from a country listed below. Other additional co-producers are optional.



ELIGIBLE COUNTRIES

Afghanistan Egypt
Albania El Salvador
Algeria Equatorial Guinea

Eritrea

Indonesia

Angola Antigua and Barbuda

Botswana

Ethiopia Argentina Fiji Armenia Gabon Gambia Azerbaijan Bahamas Georgia Bahrain Ghana Bangladesh Grenada Barbados Guatemala Belarus Guinea

Belize Guinea-Bissau
Benin Guyana
Bhutan Haiti
Bolivia Honduras
Bosnia and Hong Kong
Herzegovina India

Brazil Iran
Brunei Iraq
Burkina Faso Jamaica
Burundi Jordan
Cabo Verde Kazakhstan
Cambodia Kenya
Cameroon Kiribati

Central African Korea, Democratic
Republic People's Republic of

Chad Kosovo
Chile Kyrgyzstan
China, People's Lao People's

Republic of Democratic Republic

Colombia Lebanon
Comoros Lesotho
Congo, Democratic Liberia

Republic of the Libya
Congo-Brazzaville Madagascar
Cook Islands Malawi
Costa Rica Malaysia
Côte d'Ivoire Maldives
Cuba Mali

Djibouti Marshall Islands Dominica Mauritania

Dominican Republic Mauritius Ecuador Mexico

Micronesia Moldova Mongolia Montenegro

Montserrat Solution S

Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Nicaragua

Niger Nigeria Niue

North Macedonia

Oman Pakistan Palau Palestine Panama

Papua New Guinea Paraguay

Peru
Philippines
Puerto Rico
Qatar

Russian Federation

Rwanda Saint Helena Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia
Saint Vincent and the

Grenadines

Samoa

Sao Tome and Principe

Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore

Solomon Islands

Somalia South Sudan South Africa Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland

Syrian Arab Republic

Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine

United Arab Emirates
United States Virgin

Islands Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Viet Nam

Wallis and Futuna West Bank and Gaza

Strip Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe