Full selection for 38th CineMart

16 December 2020

CineMart 2021 selection

17 brand-new film projects are selected for the 38th, and first ever online, edition of IFFR’s co-production market CineMart. As part of the IFFR Pro Days (from 1 to 5 February), CineMart will take place on the festival’s new dedicated platform, alongside IFFR’s 50th-anniversary. The new projects accompany 7 BoostNL and 4 Immersive projects that were announced earlier this year to be part of CineMart 2021. The filmmakers invited to present their projects represent a diverse geographical spread – from Brazil to Iran, Ukraine to Ethiopia and Ecuador.

Notable achievements among the selected filmmakers include Johannes Nyholm’s Grand Jury Prize nomination at Sundance 2019 for Koko-di Koko-da and Special Jury Prize at San Sebastián 2016 for The Giant. In addition, Evi Kalogiropoulou’s Motorway 65 was nominated for Best Short Film at Cannes 2020, Carla Simón won the GWFF Best First Feature Award in Berlin 2017 for Summer 1993 and Nele Wohlatz’s El futuro perfecto both won Best First Feature and was nominated for a Golden Leopard at Locarno 2016.

Head of IFFR Pro, Marit van den Elshout: “In receiving the numerous project applications, it was incredibly inspiring to witness the resilience of our industry in these challenging times. We have been especially impressed by the filmmakers who have continued to push boundaries and create original and daring work. The quality of the projects received was very high. Even more than in previous editions, we are determined to try to offer each of the selected projects a tailor-made approach, so to enable everyone involved to get as much out of our online edition of CineMart as possible.”

CineMart selection 2021

CineMart 2021 selection

  • ¿Duermen los peces con los ojos abiertos?, Nele Wohlatz, Ruda Cine/CinemaScópio/Circe Films/Blinker Filmproduktion (Argentina/Brazil/Netherlands/Germany) 
  • Cora, Evi Kalogiropoulou, Neda Film (Greece)
  • Do You Know Anything About OMID?, Keywan Karimi, Key Film/Promenades Films (Iran/France)
  • Dreyana Grooms, Gabe Klinger, CogniCine/Black Monarch Entertainment/Les Films Hatari (USA/France)
  • A Dutiful Wife, Haolu Wang, Factory Gate Films (China)
  • Firehawks, Johannes Nyholm, Johannes Nyholm Produktion/Beofilm (Sweden/Denmark)
  • Future Me, Vincent Boy Kars, HALAL (Netherlands)
  • Ground Zero, Zhanna Ozirna, RADAR Films (Ukraine)
  • The Ivy, Ana Cristina Barragán, Boton Films/BHD Films (Ecuador/Mexico)
  • Kabul Jan, Shahrbanoo Sadat, Adomeit Film UG (Germany)
  • The Last Tears of the Deceased, Beza Hailu Lemma, Gobez Media/Gobez Media Inc. (Ethiopia/Canada)
  • Légua, Filipa Reis/João Miller Guerra, Laranja Zul/Uma Pedra no Sapato/Desvia/KG Productions (Portugal/Brazil/France)
  • Macunaíma, Felipe Bragança & co-director Zahy Guajajara, Duas Mariola/Promenades Films/Globo Filmes (Brazil/France)
  • Milano, Christina Vandekerckhove, Lunanime/Bastide Films (Belgium/Netherlands)
  • Novak, Harry Lagoussis, Heretic/keplerfilm (Greece/Netherlands)
  • Romería, Carla Simón, Avalon P.C. (Spain)
  • Viet and Nam, Truong Minh Quý, Epicmedia Productions Inc (Vietnam/Philippines)

    BoostNL selection 

    • Holy Electricity, Vakhtang (Tato) Kotetishvili, Ogasavara Films/Nushi Film/The Film Kitchen/AMONDO films/Stout&Smits (Georgia/Poland/Netherlands)
    • Jacob’s Way, Eelko Ferwerda, BIND/Vico Films (Netherlands/Ireland)
    • De Maalstroom, Teddy Cherim, Graniet Film (Netherlands)
    • Marina, Laís Santos Araújo/Pethrus Tibúrcio, Aguda Cinema/Carnaval Filmes (Brazil)
    • Marionettes, Arianne Hinz, Rinkel Film/Alchemic Film (Netherlands)
    • The Settlement, Mohamed Rashad, Hassala Films/Caractères Productions (Egypt/France)
    • Un personaje volador, Martina Juncadella, Una Presencia Cine/Vitrine Filmes (Argentina/Spain)

    IFFR Pro Immersive selection


    The collaboration between IFFR and NFF.

    Read more

    IFFR Pro Immersive

    The collaboration between IFFR and VR Days Europe

    Read more

    IFFR and HBF history

    Three of the selected projects were previously supported by IFFR’s Hubert Bals Fund (HBF), receiving the Script and Project Development grant. ¿Duermen los peces con los ojos abiertos? by Nele Wohlatz received a grant in the Bright Future sub-category in 2018, and both Kabul Jan by Shahrbanoo Sadat and Viet and Nam by Truong Minh Quý received a grant in the Voices sub-category in 2020.

    Among the selected filmmakers, Ana Cristina Barragán, Shahrbanoo Sadat and Felipe Bragança have had other film projects previously supported by HBF. Eleven of the filmmakers are returning to IFFR after previously screening films at earlier editions, with four of those directors having previously been nominated for IFFR’s flagship Tiger Competition: Vincent Boy Kars (Drama Girl, IFFR 2020), Johannes Nyholm (Koko-di Koko-da, IFFR 2019) and Filipa Reis and João Miller Guerra (Djon África, IFFR 2018).

    IFFR Pro Days online

    The upcoming edition of IFFR Pro Days will take place on a dedicated online platform, from 1 to 5 February

    Read more