Bright Future


Since 2009, Bright Future has been IFFR's programme dedicated to young and emerging film talent with their own style and vision, often presenting their films for the first time on the international film scene. The section includes:

Hivos Tiger Competition

Eight young film talents at the centre of attention.

Neighbouring Sounds

The Hivos Tiger Competition is the festival's most prestigious competition. Since its inception in 1995, it has celebrated the innovative spirit of young filmmakers from all over the globe. Eight Filmmakers premiering their first, second or third feature film are eligible for two awards given by a jury of international film professionals and artists.
Filmmakers that have been part of the Tiger Competition include Zhang Yuan, Hong Sangsoo, Christopher Nolan, Pablo Trapero, Kelly Reichardt, Pia Marais, Kleber Mendonça Filho, Dominga Sotomayor, Ilya Khrzhanovksy and many others.

Tiger Competition for Short Films

Whether it's a few seconds or 59 minutes, a short film is precisely as long as it needs to be.

Things Ben Rivers

Established in 2005, the Tiger Competition for Short Films presents cinema under 60 minutes in all its forms: fiction, documentary, essay film, animation and more. New films from around the world are presented to enthusiastic audiences and a jury of three international film professionals. Past winners include Yto Barrada, Mati Diop, Nathaniel Dorsky and Ben Rivers.

Bright Future Main Programme

Young filmmakers of the world, united in one programme.

Gaamer Oleg Sentsov

Highlighting predominantly first or second features by young filmmakers, Bright Future Main Programme offers a selection of discoveries for the future. All films are made by original, up-and-coming directors bringing their own style, vision and subject matter. Bright Future presents IFFR's selection of about twenty films of major new talents from the past year as well as a series of premieres. With this, the festival aims to kickstart the international recognition of these young filmmakers. In recent years, it has premiered new films by filmmakers such as Isabelle Tollenaere, Andres Duque, Felipe Guerrero, Michael Tully, Rick Alverson, or Oleg Sentsov.

First feature length films being presented in world or international premiere in this section are eligible for the Bright Future Award. A FIPRESCI jury bestows their honours on a film world premiering in this programme.

Bright Future Mid-length

Not short, not long: just as long as it takes.

Vita Brevis

With a selection of 10 mid-length films, all with a running time between 40 and 62 minutes, IFFR spotlights the Mid-length format, one of the most interesting, vibrant formats in current cinema. The section is non-competitive, but the films are presented in solo-screenings - not as part of a combined programme - high-lighting the idea that these films are just as long as it takes. Started in 2015, filmmakers such as Miranda Pennell, Nicolas Pereda, Thierry Knauff and Pat O’Neill have have participated in this section.

Bright Future Short

Experimental work

IFFR’s short film section is one of the largest and most significant showcases for short filmmaking and artists’ moving image in the world. It brings numerous short film professionals and international audiences to Rotterdam. Occupying a central position in the programme, IFFR presents short films in curated compilation programmes but also as part of performances, installations and in conjunction with feature films. The selection covers a spectrum of moving image practice that includes auteur-driven narrative works, experimental films, works by visual artists and films that refuse to be pinpointed to existing genres or styles. Bright Future Short focuses on experimental short films and features the sound//vision programme in Club WORM with live A/V performances.