The winners of IFFR 2014...

On Friday 31 January 2014, the winners of the Hivos Tiger Awards have been announced. In addition, the Moviezone Award, The Big Screen Award, NETPAC Award, FIPRESCI Award and KNF Award were handed out. Congratulations to the winning filmmakers!

Hivos Tiger Awards

Anatomy of a Paper Clip by Ikeda Akira (Japan, 2013)
The jury: 'Challenging narrative form with precision and economy, this film elevates observations of the absurd in human behavior, and brings it into the poetic domain.'

Han Gong-Ju by Lee Su-Jin (South Korea, 2013)
The jury: 'A skilfully crafted and highly accomplished debut – deviating from classicist structure, this film lures the spectator to participate in the pleasures of storytelling through an extraordinary and intricate narrative puzzle.'

Something Must Break by Ester Martin Bergsmark (Sweden, 2014)
The jury: 'A free-floating personal voyage traces the pains and pleasures of intimacy, recounted in a tender depiction of characters, with a sincere and playful use of cinematographic language.'

Fifteen first or second films by talented filmmakers from around the globe competed in the 2014 Hivos Tiger Awards Competition. Both Hivos and IFFR aim to give young filmmakers a voice. To inspire us; to push boundaries. Their work has the potential to break open societies, so thoughts and creativity can flow more freely. The Hivos Tiger Awards give them the recognition they deserve.

The Jury consisted of distinguished filmmaker Elia Suleiman; celebrated Dutch filmmaker Nanouk Leopold, Indonesian filmmaker and former Tiger Award nominee Edwin; Violeta Bava, BAFICI programmer and film producer from Argentina and Japanese actress and producer Kiki Sugino. Each Hivos Tiger Award comes with a prize of €15,000 for the filmmaker.

The Big Screen Award

Another Year by Oxana Bychkova (Russia, 2014)

IFFR introduced a new competition in 2013: The Big Screen Award Competition, aimed at supporting the distribution of films in Dutch cinemas. Ten very recent films with no Benelux distributor confirmed were nominated for this prize. An audience jury, chaired in 2014 by Christine de Baan, chose the winner. IFFR will connect a prize of €10.000 to the award in 2014. The money is for the distributor to support the costs of publicity for the releases of the winning film in cinemas in the Netherlands.


28 by Prasanna Jayakody (Sri Lanka, 2014)

The NETPAC Jury (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) awards the best Asian film in the IFFR 2014 Official Selection.


The Songs of Rice by Uruphong Raksasad (Thailand, 2014)

The Jury of the International Association of Film Critics FIPRESCI (Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique) awards the best film among the twenty-two world premieres in Bright Future 2014.

KNF Award

To Kill a Man by Alejandro Fernández Almendras (Chile/France, 2013)

For the KNF Award, The Dutch Circle of Film Critics (KNF) Jury chose the winner out of the ten films in The Big Screen Award Competition 2014. The KNF Award comes with a subtitled DCP.

MovieZone Award

Jacky au royaume des filles by Riad Sattouf (France, 2014)

MovieZone Jury gives young people the opportunity to fully experience a film festival and present their opinions on film. The winner of the MovieZone IFFR Award 2014 receives € 1,500 for promotion of the film among young people. The film also has a chance to become part of an EYE educational film programme.

Other awards

IFFR previously announced winners of the Canon Tiger Awards for Short Films, as well as ARTE International and Eurimages for best CineMart projects. On Saturday 1 February the festival audience favorites will be awarded the UPC Audience Award for best festival film and the Dioraphte Award for best Hubert Bals Fund-supported film.

Canon Tiger Awards for Short Films

La isla by Dominga Sotomayor and Katarzyna Klimkiewicz (Chile/Poland/Denmark)
Giant by Salla Tykkä (Finland/Romania(
The Chimera of M. by Sebastian Buerkner (United Kingdom)

ARTE International

Happy Time Will Come Soon by Alessandro Comodin (Italy/France), a co-production of Okta Film (Italy) and Shellac Sud (France).


Tabija by Igor Drljaca (Bosnia and Herzegovina), a production of SCCA/

UPC Audience Award

Nebraska by Alexander Payne (USA).

Dioraphte Award

Qissa by Anup Singh (Germany, India, Netherlands, France)

Lions Film Award

Love Steaks by Jakob Lass (Germany).