The Cloud in Her Room wins Tiger Award IFFR 2020

31 January 2020

The winners of IFFR 2020

The Cloud in Her Room by Chinese filmmaker Zheng Lu Xinyuan is the winner of the Tiger Award 2020, IFFR’s most prestigious, flagship award. Many more awards were handed out at the Awards Ceremony of the 49th edition of IFFR.

The jury called The Cloud in Her Room a “graceful portrait of a certain global generation paralysed by modern alienation and capitalism” and were unanimously impressed by the film’s “innovative personal language”. The cash prize of € 40,000 that accompanies this major IFFR award will be divided between filmmaker and producer.


The Tiger Competition jury also handed out the Special Jury Award (and €10,000 in prize money). The winning film is Beasts Clawing at Straws by South Korean filmmaker Kim Yonghoon, which the jury described as “a strong first film which is resolutely inscribed in an existing genre but demonstrates undeniable craftsmanship – from the screenplay to the performance to the temporal flexibility of structure.”



The VPRO Big Screen Award was awarded to A Perfectly Normal Family by Danish filmmaker Malou Reymann. This means the film will have a guaranteed release in Dutch cinemas and will be broadcast on Dutch TV by NPO 2. The award comes with a €30,000 prize. The film “goes beyond the sensitive subject of gender reassignment, and shows family struggles that are relatable to anyone”, the jury said.



Moving On by Yoon Dan-bi won the Bright Future Award (and €10,000) for best feature-film debut. The jury called the film “a thoughtful portrait, that goes straight to the heart of human relations and emotions, and thus enriches the cinematic tradition of family drama remarkably”. The Bright Future Competition jury gave a special mention to Isabella Rinaldi, Cristina Hanes and Arya Rothe for their film A Rifle and a Bag.

Festival Bero Beyer congratulated all winners and said: “We are incredibly impressed with the quality of this year’s Tiger Competition, which in many cases spurred significant festival buzz. We thank all filmmakers for their ambitious and creative approaches to cinema. Remember these names, because we’re sure to see much more of them in the future.”

The FIPRESCI Award from the international film critics went to Only You Alone by Zhou Zhou, “a film which brings a touching story about loneliness and about daring to be different in modern Chinese society”. The KNF Award, presented by the Circle of Dutch Film Journalists, went to Kala azar by Janis Rafa (also in Tiger Competition), which, according to the jury, “comments subtly on the sickness of the world and the ecological collapse we are all facing”.



The Tiger Competition-selected film Nasir by Arun Karthick won the NETPAC Award for best Asian film premiering at the festival – it was described by the jury as “a moving letter to and from the oppressed Muslim minority in Mother India”. The winner of the IFFR Youth Jury Award is Les misérables by Ladj Ly. Laurence Attali won the Voices Short Award for his short film Tabaski, while My Mexican Bretzel by Nuria Giménez won the Found Footage Award.



The BankGiro Loterij Audience Award (worth €10,000) was won by Bong Joon Ho’s Parasite (B&W Version).





Other blog posts on IFFR 2020