Present.Perfect. wins main prize at IFFR 2019

Zhu Shengze’s Present.Perfect. has won the Tiger Award during the Award Ceremony of the 48th International Film Festival Rotterdam. The Tiger Award is the main prize of the festival. This year’s ceremony saw many more winners, as filmmakers from other IFFR programs also received prizes from both jury and audience.

From this year’s eight competing films in the Tiger Competition Zhu Shengze’s Present.Perfect. came out on top. The jury found this co-production from the United States and Hong Kong "a daring film that takes us to places where we have never been." The cash prize of € 40,000 that accompanies this major IFFR award will be divided between filmmaker and producer.




The Tiger Jury, consisting this year of Alfredo Year, Daniela Michel, Susanna Nicchiarelli, Pimpaka Towira and Katriel Schory, also presented a Special Jury Award, worth € 10,000, for an extraordinary artistic achievement within the Tiger Competition. The winner is the Dutch filmmaker Ena Sendijarević with her film Take Me Somewhere Nice. The jury calls the film "an exceptional artistic achievement portraying a journey through a unique and very precise personal vision."



Bright Futures

In the context of upcoming talent: A volta ao mundo quando tinhas 30 anos by Aya Koretzky won the Bright Future Award for Best Feature Debut, and a cash prize of €10,000. The jury on this Portuguese production: “A strong cinematic approach to an intimate and poetic journey, with a superb sound design merging perfectly with the images each and every second.” The Bright Future jury also gave an honourable mention to Historia de mi nombre, by Karin Cuyul.



The VPRO Big Screen Award, consisting of a jury of seasoned festivalgoers, went to Transnistra, in which the Swedish Anna Eborn shows the daily reality of Moldovan teenagers. The winning film will receive a cash prize of € 30,000, will be released in the Dutch film theatres after the festival and will be screened on Dutch national television by VPRO.




Wong Ping (Wong Ping's Fables 1), Vincent Meessen (Ultramarine) and Nina Fischer and Maroan el Sani (Freedom of Movement) are the proud winners of the Ammodo Tiger Short Award – and a money prize of €5,000. Their films are part of the Ammodo Tiger Short Competition 2019, an IFFR-programme presenting 24 short films from around the world.




The winner of the Voices Short Award is also determined by IFFR audiences, who share their opinion on voting cards after seeing the narrative short films from IFFR’s Voices section. This year, the prize of €2,500 goes to Casa de vidro of Filipe Martin.





Proud festival director Bero Beyer congratulates all winners. "These filmmakers don’t just show that independent cinema is alive and kicking, but that they are able to explore new cinematic grounds. We thank them for their courage and passion.”

Photo in header: Left to right: Susanna Nicchiarelli (jury), Zhu Shengze (filmmaker), Zhengfang Yang (producer)