Meet the IFFR programmers

IFFR welcomes the expertise of several new programmers to the team in the runup towards the festive 50th edition.

Feature films will be selected under the supervision of an artistic committee comprising senior programmers Bianca Taal and Gerwin Tamsma, and, new to the team, Giona Nazzaro.

Nazzaro: "I'm excited to join IFFR as a member of the artistic committee. I hope my experience as general delegate of Venice Critics' Week and as programmer for Visions du Réel is a valuable addition to the team. IFFR is a festival with a true love for cinema and I look forward to contributing to this reputation."

Giona A. Nazzaro

Now a member of IFFR's artistic committee.

Read biography

Peter van Hoof continues as head of an editorial team responsible for the Short & Mid-length programme. Edwin Carels will curate Art Directions, showcasing the ways in which cinema sprawls into the other arts. Olaf Möller will be lead programmer for an enlarged, and re-imagined Cinema Regained section, showing IFFR's dedication to living film history and restorations.

Ronny Theeuwes remains programmer for the Talks & Masterclasses. Bregje Benecke will focus on new immersive art forms, including VR, as part of Art Directions.

The programmers, each with their own territory and specialty, will work together with a member of the artistic committee. Evgeny Gusyatinskiy will be the programmer for Russia, Eastern Europe, Greece and Israel. Julian Ross will cover Japan, South Korea and South-East Asian countries.

New programmers and new roles

Next to them, new programmers are welcomed to the team.

  • Stefan Borsos (Indian subcontinent)
  • Michelle Carey (USA, UK, New Zealand, Australia and English-speaking Canada)
  • Shelly Kraicer (Chinese-speaking territories)
  • Janneke Langelaan (Netherlands and Flanders)
  • Mercedes Martínez-Abarca (Spain and Portugal, Latin America, Caribbean region)
  • Olivier Pierre (French-speaking countries, excluding Africa)
  • Delly Shirazi (Middle East and North Africa)
  • Annina Wettstein (German-speaking territories and Scandinavia)

Robert Gray, Jolinde den Haas, Kim Haery, Aihara Hiromi, Stefan Ivančić, Ralph McKay, Roberto Turigliatto and Grace Winter will continue as advisors to the festival. Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva joins the festival as advisor for Sub-Saharan African films.

Short Film

IFFR’s short film programmers are Anna Germanidi, Erwin van ‘t Hart, Marta Jurkiewicz, Helena Kritis, Koen de Rooij, Julian Ross and Theus Zwakhals. Mid-length programmers are Maaike Gouwenberg, Edwin Carels and Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva.

New programme structure

Introducing a new programme setup with expanded competitions and new section Harbour.

Read more