IFFR presents Short Film programme 2017

23 films confirmed for Tiger Competition for Short Films

As a central part of International Film Festival Rotterdam 2017, IFFR Short Film is a unique showcase of artists’ moving image and experimental film for works under 60 minutes. Shown on a variety of formats from 3D to 35mm film, it is a celebration of all forms of film and video.

The 2017 edition of IFFR Short Film presents 23 films in the Tiger Competition for Short Films, now in its 12th year, including new works by Laure Prouvost, Rosa Barba, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Basim Magdy, Simon Fujiwara, Gao Yuan, Cécile B. Evans, Laura Kraning, Manuela de Laborde, Esther Urlus, Serge Onnen, Lois Patiño, Su Hui-yu, Makino Takashi, Sebastian Diaz Morales and a 3D film by Omer Fast. Three winners will be selected by a jury of three, comprising Finnish artist Salla Tykkä, Dutch professor Patricia Pisters and Andrea Lissoni, Senior Curator of International Art (Film) at Tate.

IFFR Short Film will also present two Short Profiles: a tribute to Taiwanese artist Su Hui-yu and a retrospective on Dutch artist Joost Rekveld. He will present his new film and installation, and with a performance he will be part of sound//vision – a four-night programme at club WORM in Rotterdam featuring live A/V performances. Turkish artist belit sağ and American filmmaker Jesse McLean will give presentations on their work.

Other highlights include new works by Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Phil Collins, eteam, Jaakko Pallasvuo, Anicka Yi, Pauline Curnier Jardin, Ismaïl Bahri, Rawane Nassif, James N. Kienitz Wilkins, Frank Heath, Steve Reinke, Katarina Zdjelar and Laida Lertxundi.

With a selection of 10 mid-length films, all with a running time between 40 and 65 minutes, IFFR also spotlights the mid-length format, one of the most interesting, vibrant formats in current cinema. The programme Bright Future Mid-length (ML) is non-competitive, and the films are presented in solo-screenings – not as part of a combined programme – highlighting the idea that sometimes a film just takes as long as it takes. This year's line-up has new works by Simon Coulibaly Gillard, Benjamin Klintoe, Kerry Tribe, Elise Florenty & Marcel Türkowsky, Clémentine Roy & Gústav Geir Bollason and Amir Yatziv.

Selection Tiger Competition for Short Films 2017

  • As Without So Within by Manuela de Laborde, USA/Mexico/UK, 24 min.
  • August by Omer Fast, Germany, 16 min.
  • Cloacinae by Serge Onnen & Sverre Fredriksen, Netherlands/China, 25 min.
  • El cuento de Antonia by Jorge Cadena, Colombia/Switzerland, 30 min.
  • Deletion by Esther Urlus, Netherlands, 11 min.
  • Fajr by Lois Patiño, Spain/Morocco, 12 min.
  • From Source to Poem by Rosa Barba, Germany, 12 min.
  • Fuddy Duddy by Siegfried A. Fruhauf, Austria, 5 min.
  • Holy God by Vladlena Sandu, Russia, 25 min.
  • Information Skies by Daniel van der Velden & Vinca Kruk, Netherlands/South Korea, 24 min.
  • Into All That Is Here by Laure Prouvost, Belgium/United Kingdom, 9 min.
  • Joanne by Simon Fujiwara, UK, 14 min.
  • Last Days of Leningrad by Maria Zennström, Sweden, 28 min.
  • On Generation and Corruption by Makino Takashi, Japan, 26 min.
  • The Lost Object by Sebastian Diaz Morales, Netherlands, 13 min.
  • Lunar Dial by Gao Yuan, China, 15 min.
  • Meridian Plain by Laura Kraning, USA, 18 min.
  • No Shooting Stars by Basim Magdy, Egypt/Switzerland, 14 min.
  • Nyo vweta Nafta by Ico Costa, Portugal/Mozambique, 20 min.
  • Super Taboo by Su Hui-yu, Taiwan, 19 min.
  • Rubber Coated Steel by Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Lebanon/UK, 22 min.
  • Sakhisona Prantik Basu, India 26 min.
  • What the Heart Wants by Cécile B. Evans, Germany/United Kingdom/Belgium/Australia, 41 min.

Read more

View the full 2017 IFFR Short Film programme