Four Oscars for The Shape of Water

The long-awaited presentation of the Academy Awards 2018 took place last night. The most celebrated director and film were Guillermo Del Toro and The Shape of Water, winning four Oscars including best director and best film.

No less than seven IFFR selected films were nominated for one or more Oscars; additionally, the delightful Allison Janney won the Oscar for best actress in a supporting role in I, Tonya.

All nominated IFFR films:

Phantom Thread
Actor in Leading Role (Daniel Day Lewis)
Actress in a supporting role (Lesley Manville)
Costume design (Mark Bridges) - winner
Directing (Paul Thomas Anderson)
Music (Jonny Greenwood)
Best picture

The Shape of Water
Actor in a supporting role (Richard Jenkins)
Actress in a leading role (Sally Hawkins)
Actress in a supporting role (Octavia Spencer)
Cinematography (Dan Laustsen)
Costume design (Luis Sequeira)
Directing (Guillermo del Toro) - winner
Film editing (Sidney Wolinsky)
Music (Alexandre Desplat) - winner
Best picture - winner
Production design (Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau en Jeffrey A. Melvin) - winner
Sound editing (Nathan Robitaille en Nelson Ferreira)
Sound mixing (Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern en Glen Gauthier)
Writing (original screenplay) (screenplay door Guillermo del Toro en Vanessa Taylor; story door Guillermo del Toro)

The Florida Project
Actor in a supporting role (Willem Dafoe)

I, Tonya
Actress in a leading role (Margot Robbie)
Actress in a supporting role (Allison Janney) - winner
Film editing (Tatiana S. Riegel)

Actress in a leading role (Saoirse Ronan)
Actress in a supporting role (Laurie Metcalf)
Directing (Greta Gerwig)
Best picture
Writing (original screenplay) (Greta Gerwig)

The Square
Foreign Film

The Insult
Foreign Film

We congratulate all winners and of course Guillermo Del Toro in particular!

All IFFR films currently playing or soon to be screened in cinemas are available here, including Oscar winners The Shape of Water and I, Tonya.

Photo in header: The Shape of Water