BankGiro Loterij Audience Award

For three years, starting in 2019 during the festival’s 48th edition, the Dutch lottery will lend its name to the festival’s audience award.

IFFR’s managing director Janneke Staarink: “The audience award is one of the main ways in which festival goers engage with the films on display. We’re thrilled to expand our collaboration with the BankGiro Loterij in this way.”

Michiel Verboven, managing director of the BankGiro Loterij: “As the cultural lottery of the Netherlands, the BankGiro Loterij has been IFFR’s main partner for years now. Our organisations share the goal of making inspiring culture widely accessible. That’s why the BankGiro Loterij Audience Award follows logically from our previous collaboration.”

Visitors of IFFR determine the audience favourite through a voting system. The film with the highest average vote in the audience poll wins the BankGiro Loterij Audience Award, which includes a cash prize of €10,000. Besides bringing public recognition, the prize also serves as an important boost for the winning film’s further distribution. Audience Award winners of previous years were: The Guilty by Gustav Möller (2018), Moonlight by Barry Jenkins (2017), Land of Mine by Martin Zandvliet (2016) and The Dark Horse by James Napier (2015).

  • Still from The Guilty

  • Still from Moonlight

  • Still from Land of Mine

  • Still from The Dark Horse