And the winners of IFFR 2015 are...

On Friday 30 January 2015, the three winners of the Hivos Tiger Awards have been announced. But more awards were handed out: the MovieZone Award, The Big Screen Award, NETPAC Award, FIPRESCI Award and KNF Award. A big hooray for everyone!

Hivos Tiger Awards 

Thirteen first or second films by talented filmmakers from around the globe competed in the 2015 Hivos Tiger Awards Competition. Both Hivos and IFFR aim to give young filmmakers a voice. To inspire us; to push boundaries. Their work has the potential to break open societies, so thoughts and creativity can flow more freely. The Hivos Tiger Awards give them the recognition they deserve. Each Hivos Tiger Awards comes with prizes of €15.000.

The Big Screen Award

IFFR introduced a new competition in 2013: The Big Screen Award Competition, aimed at supporting the distribution of films in Dutch cinemas. Ten very recent films with no Benelux distributor confirmed were nominated for this prize. IFFR will connect a prize of €10.000 to the award. The money is for the distributor to support the costs of publicity for the releases of the winning film in cinemas in the Netherlands.


The NETPAC Jury (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) awards the best Asian film in the IFFR 2015 official selection.


The Jury of the International Association of Film Critics FIPRESCI (Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique) awards the best film among the 25 world premieres in Bright Future Premieres 2015.

KNF Award

For the KNF Award, The Dutch Circle of Film Critics (KNF) Jury chose the winner out of the ten films in The Big Screen Award Competition 2015.

MovieZone Award

MovieZone Jury gives young people the opportunity to fully experience a film festival and present their opinions on film. The winning film has a chance to become part of an EYE educational film programme.

Other awards

IFFR previously announced winners of the Canon Tiger Awards for Short Films, as well as three CineMart awards and the Lions Film Award. On Saturday 31 January the festival audience favorites will be awarded the IFFR Audience Award for best festival film and the Dioraphte Award for best Hubert Bals Fund-supported film.