And the CineMart awards go to...

CineMart Awards 2007

This year’s winner of the 2007 Prince Claus Fund Grant of €15,000 is INDEPENDENCIA, from Filipino director Raya Martin, produced by Arleen Cuevas. The story follows a mother and son at the turn of the 20th century who run off to the mountains following the onset of American rule in the Philippines.
“The jury has opted for what was clearly one of the most original ideas amongst the 2007 CineMart selection,” said the Prince Claus Fund jury in a joint statement Thursday. “This powerful and original project embodies a daring cinematographic voice with clear political undertone, where the unfolding narrative seems to emerge from images and sound rather than the established convention of storytelling.”

The winners this year for Arte France’s two grants of €10,000 in support of financing the development of the projects are: A RATIONAL SOLUTION by Jörgen Bergmark, which will be produced by Helena Danielsson from Hepp Film; and PIEDS NUS SUR LES LIMACES  by Fabienne Berthaud, which will be produced by Nicolas Blanc for AGAT FILMS & Cie. The film revolves around two women and a man who share an isolated life in the French countryside.

Awards history
As well as the positive outcomes from the various meetings, CineMart also offers participants the opportunity to win direct financial support.
This comes in the form of the Prince Claus Fund Film Grant (one award of €15,000) and the Arte France Cinéma Awards (two prizes of €10,000 each).
Bianca Taal, co-manager of the CineMart along with Marit van den Elshout, says, “The Awards are a great stamp of quality and a boost for the projects chosen by the respective juries.”

The Prince Claus Fund Film Grant is awarded by the Prince Claus Fund, which also supports theatre and literature, focusing on initiatives from the developing world. In its own words, the fund “aims at increasing cultural awareness and promoting exchange between culture and development.” Last year’s award went to LASYA, by Anup Singh (India).

The Arte France Cinéma Awards are conferred by the feature film co-production department of the Franco-German broadcaster. Last year’s recipients were A MEXICAN STORY (Arturo Aristakisian, Mexico/Russia) and HEI TIE DE RI ZI (Wang Bing, China). (SK & LF)