Bright Future Competition

Filmmakers presenting the world or international premiere of their first feature length film in the main programme of IFFR's section Bright Future, are eligible for the Bright Future Award.

The Bright Future section is bursting with films from mostly young, upcoming directors and talents who enrich the cinematographic landscape with their often daring and innovative films. A jury of three film industry and film festival professionals decide which selected film wins the award. The award comes with €10,000, to be spent on the development of a next film project. 

De Bright Future Competition Jury 2019

  • Beatrice Fiorentino
  • Christoph Friedel
  • Sata Cissokho

Winners per edition

A volta ao mundo quando tinhas 30 anos by Aya Koretzky
Honourable mention to Historia de mi nombre by Karin Cuyul

Azougue Nazaré by Tiago Melo

Mes nuits feront écho
 by Sophie Goyette

Las Lindas
 by Melisa Liebenthal