Ammodo Tiger Short Competition

The power of short. Twenty-two films from the Short & Mid-length selection compete for one of three equal awards.

Short films can be found at many places during IFFR: as part of video installations, preceding feature films at Pathé premieres and, naturally, in combined programmes. Films between 1 and 63 minutes long, from all over the world. There are fiction films, experimental work and documentaries. Short films prove that filmmakers play with a whole range of cinematic forms and ideas. 

The short films have their own competition at IFFR. What differentiates it from the Tiger Competition for feature-length films is the fact that it's not just for young and upcoming talents; all filmmakers have a chance at winning. About 20 to 25 short films (twenty-three in 2017) compete for three equal Ammodo Tiger Short Awards, each worth €5,000.

Jury Ammodo Tiger Short Competition 2021

Check out the Ammodo Tiger Short Competition 2021 selection

Winners per edition

Apparition by Ismaïl Bahri (France)
Communicating Vessels by Maïder Fortuné and Annie MacDonell (Canada)
Sun Dog by Dorian Jespers (Belgium, Russia)

Wong Ping's Fables 1 by Wong Ping (Hong Kong)
Ultramarine by Vincent Meessen (Belgium/France/Canada)
Freedom of Movement by Nina Fischer and Maroan el Sani (Germany/Italy)

Mountain Plain Mountain by Araki Yu and Daniel Jacoby (Spain/Japan/Netherlands)
Rose Gold by Sara Cwynar (USA)
With History in a Room Filled with People with Funny Names 4 by Korakrit Arunanondchai (USA/Thailand/South Africa/United Kingdom)

Rubber Coated Steel
 by Lawrence Abu Hamdan (Lebanon/Germany)
El cuento de Antonia by Jorge Cadena (Colombia/Switzerland)
Sakhisona by Prantik Basu (India)

Dream English Kid 1964-1999 AD by Mark Leckey (United Kingdom)
Faux départ by Yto Barrada (Morocco)
Engram of Returning by Daïchi Saïto (Canada)

Things by Ben Rivers (United Kingdom)
La fièvre by Safia Benhaim (France)
Greetings to the Ancestors by Ben Russell (USA/South Africa/United Kingdom)

La isla by Dominga Sotomayor and Katarzyna Klimkiewicz (Chile/Poland/Denmark)
Giant by Salla Tykkä (Finland, Romania
The Chimera of M. by Sebastian Buerkner (United Kingdom)

Janus by Erik van Lieshout (Netherlands)
The Tiger's Mind by Beatrice Gibson (United Kingdom)
Unsupported Transit by Zachary Formwalt (Netherlands)

Generator by Makino Takashi (Japan)
Big in Vietnam by Mati Diop (France)
Springtime by Jeroen Eisinga (Netherlands)

Stardust by Nicolas Provost (Belgium)
Pastourelle by Nathaniel Dorsky (USA)
Jan Villa by Natasha Mendonca (USA/India)

Atlantiques by Mati Diop (Senegal/France)
Wei Wen (Condolences) by Ying Liang (China)
Wednesday Morning 2 A.M. by Lewis Klahr (USA)

Bernadette by Duncan Campbell (UK)
Despair by Galina Myznikova & Sergey Provorov (Russia)
A Necessary Music by Beatrice Gibson (UK)

Ah, Liberty! by Ben Rivers (UK)
As I Lay Dying by Ho Yuhang (Malaysia) 
Observando el cielo by Jeanne Liotta (USA)

Video Game by Vipin Vijay (India, 2006)
Hinterland by Geoffrey Boulangé (France, 2007)
The Flag by Köken Ergun (Turkey, 2007) 

Beginnings by Roy Villevoye (Netherlands, 2006) 
Rabbit by Run Wrake (United Kingdom, 2005) 
Who I Am and What I Want by David Shrigley & Chris Shepherd (United Kingdom, 2005)

Interlude by Joost van Veen (Netherlands)
Nuuk by Thomas Köner (Germany)
Veere by David Lammers (Netherlands) 
Special mention: 
Fare bene Mìkles by Christian Angeli (Italy)