Skip to content
30 Jan – 9 Feb 2025

Big Screen Competition

A diverse competition bridging the gap between popular, classic and art house cinema. An expert audience jury picks the winner.

The VPRO Big Screen Award is the result of years of collaboration between IFFR and VPRO. The films selected for the Big Screen Competition are presented to an audience jury composed of five film lovers. Together they determine which film they think deserves to be shown in cinemas across the Netherlands and broadcast on television on NPO2 after the festival. The winner of the VPRO Big Screen Award wins a cash prize of €30,000, half of which goes to the distributor who decides to buy the film.

  • The jury

    Our five-member jury has the unique opportunity to watch all films selected for the Big Screen Competition during the festival and collectively determine the winner of the VPRO Big Screen Award.

    As a jury member, you must be available from 30 January to 9 February 2025, to watch all nominated films. Your schedule for this will be disclosed once the film program is complete. We aim for a diverse team and are seeking jurors of all ages—a true reflection of the city of Rotterdam, where everyone is welcome. And don’t worry: you don’t need a professional background in film to participate. All you need is a love for film and an eye for movies that deserve a wider audience beyond the festival.

    Registration for the VPRO Big Screen public jury 2024 is closed. Keep an eye on our socials for IFFR 2025.

Past winners


The Old Bachelor by Oktay Baraheni


Endless Borders by Abbas Amini


Kung Fu Zohra by Mabrouk El Mechri


El perro que no calla by Ana Katz


A Perfectly Normal Family by Malou Reymann


Transnistra by Anna Eborn


Nina by Olga Chajdas


Pop Aye by Kirsten Tan


Les ogres by Léa Fehner


Second Coming by Debbie Tucker Green 


Another Year by Oxana Bychkova


Bellas mariposas by Salvatore Mereu